Browse meetings


This page lists the meetings for Cabinet.


Information about Cabinet


The Cabinet is the part of the Council which is responsible for most day-to-day decisions. In particular, it proposes the policy framework and budget to the Council and then carries on the work of the Council within the approved framework and budget. The Cabinet is also the focus for community planning and leads the search for best value.


The Council has adopted the 'Leader and Cabinet' system.


The Cabinet is appointed by the Leader of the Executive. The Cabinet is normally drawn from the majority political party group on the Council.


The Leader of the Executive allocates specific roles and responsibilities to Members of the Cabinet. These roles and responsibilities are referred to as 'portfolios'.


Decisions of the Cabinet can be reached collectively (i.e. by all Cabinet Members) or individually (i.e. each individual Cabinet Member is given decision-making powers of their own).


Decisions of the Cabinet, and the reasons for those decisions, are recorded and made publicly available.


The current Cabinet comprises six Members. There are five Cabinet Committees, These Committees make recommendations to the relevant Cabinet Member as to determining any matters within their remit. Each Committee is politically balanced.


Cllr David Turner is the Leader of the Executive and the Deputy Leader is Cllr John Knight.  


The Cabinet Portfolios are as follows:


Leader’s Portfolio – Cllr David Turner



Legal Services

Corporate Performance

Policy Partnerships

Major Projects

Asset Sales

Ebbsfleet Development Corporation

Strategic Car Parking

Committee & Election Services

Communications, Digital & IT Issues

Community Engagement

Public Health

Large Business


Self Employed


Night Time Economy

Town Centre Initiative

Economic Development

Human Resources



Deputy Leader’s Portfolio – Environmental Services – Cllr John Knight


Community Safety

Environmental Health

Health & Safety

Refuse Collection


Street Cleaning



Public Conveniences

CNEA Enforcement

Parking (Operational)

DSO Services



Performance/Administration Portfolio – Cllr Derek Shelbrooke


Revenue & Benefits


Internal Audit



Value for Money

Asset Management



Community Services Portfolio – Cllr Sandra Garside  


Sport Development


The Woodville

Customer Services


Community Cohesion


Arts & Heritage

Young People

Town Twinning



Housing – Cllr Harold Craske


Housing Services

Housing Maintenance

Housing Strategy & Development

Housing Provision

Private Sector Housing

Rented Sector Housing

Affordable Homes






Planning & Regeneration Portfolio – Cllr Julia Burgoyne


Environment Management

Local Plan

Strategic Regeneration


Development Control

Building Control