Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the Ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a four year term of office.

Gravesham Borough Council has 44 elected Members. The borough of Gravesham is divided into 18 areas called Wards, with between one and three Councillors representing each Ward.

Political Composition of the Council

The Council is composed of three political Groups, the Labour Party are the ruling majority party.

The composition of the Council is as follows:

Labour - 22 Members

Conservative - 21 Members

Independent - 1 Members


  • Cllr John Burden

    Northfleet South

    Labour Party

    Leader of the Council and Champion for Safeguarding, Cyber, Older Persons’ and Equalities

  • Cllr Lee Croxton


    Labour Party

    Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Operational Services