Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the Ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a four-year term of office.

Gravesham Borough Council has 39 elected Members. The borough of Gravesham is divided into 17 areas called Wards, with between one and three Councillors representing each Ward.

Political Composition of the Council

The Council is composed of two political Groups and the Labour Party are the ruling majority party.

The composition of the Council is as follows:

Labour - 22 Members

Conservative - 17 Members


  • Cllr John Burden


    Labour Party

    Leader of the Council and Champion for Safeguarding, Cyber, Older Persons’ and Equalities

  • Cllr Shane Mochrie-Cox

    Coldharbour & Perry Street

    Labour Party

    Deputy Leader of the Council, Cabinet Member for Strategic Environment and Younger Person's Champion